Stress #2: Fight or Flight

fight-or-flightHope all is well with everyone. In my post about Diabetes I mentioned how it has been snowing. Well the bad weather has not subsided. I had a day off of work on Monday and a half day today. So I really hope the weather has been better whereever you live.

Here is the 2nd part to the stress series. This update will not be long. because The Fight or Flight response is something easy to understand. Lets get into it…”The fight or flight response,” What is it?

The fight or flight is caused by stress and is our body’s primitive, automatic, or inborn response to “fight” a possible threat or “flee” a possible threat. This possible “threat” would be whatever is stressing us out.

Have you ever watched animal planet, or watched a youtube video where an animal is running away from its predator, and once it successfully retreats, it watches it’s predator give up while breathing really heavy. That is me. When I am stressed out, I tend to flee from what is causing the stress.

For example, say I had a project that had to be done two days from now, I would stress, and instead of doing the work, I would avoid it while thinking about how I need to get it done.

Now that’s just one of my reactions. Another reaction is the “busy body busy doing nothing,” as I like to call. What I mean by that is, when I’m in flee mode, I will do things like constantly look up more information to a topic when I already have enough, or keep watching videos on how to do something when I already know what to do…..I just need to do it.

The “fight” reaction is present as well in me when I am stressed. I snap on people who did nothing to me. When people keep bothering me when I am trying to do something I snap on them like they smacked me on the back of the head for no reason.  Its crazy.

I think one key to help get rid of stress is realizing your actions and thought patterns when you are stressed. If you practice becoming more aware of your thought patterns and actions while stressed, it can put things into perspective a little better for you.

Till next time…

2 thoughts on “Stress #2: Fight or Flight

  1. While it is true stress does that to you- makes you snap at people and be easily irritated, it stems from inadequate response from your adrenal glands(for me due to lack of sleep/too much sleep) just putting it out there!

  2. I know for a fact a lack of sleep plays a part in my stress. For the last month I have been pursuing to get enough sleep. Before that I would be “too busy for sleep” studying or working on something.

    Your comment is appreciated. The more edification on this topic, or any other, the better.

Leave a comment